World Heritage Sites in Croatia

Old City of Dubrovnik

(42.651 N 18.092 E) --
satellite image

Dubrovnik (in Latin Ragusa) is an old city on the Adriatic Sea coastline in the extreme south of Croatia, and is one of the most prominent tourist resorts in the country.

Historic Complex of Split with the Palace of Diocletian

(43.50 N 16.43 E)

Plitvice Lakes National Park

(44.876 N 15.615 E) --
satellite image

Episcopal Complex of the Euphrasian Basilica in the Historic Centre of Porec

(45.23 N 13.60 E)

Historic City of Trogir

(43.53 N 16.25 E)

Cathedral of St. James in Sibenik

(43.736 N 15.889 E)

Local name: Katedrala Sv Jakova

Stari Grad Plain

The cultural landscape on the Adriatic island of Hvar has remained practically intact since it was first colonized by Ionian Greeks from Paros in the 4th century BC.

Stecci Medieval Tombstones Graveyards

(Map of locations)

This property combines 28 sites, located in Bosnia and Herzegovina, western Serbia, western Montenegro and central and southern Croatia with distinctive medieval tombstones, or stecci mostly carved from limestone. The cemeteries date from the 12th to 16th centuries, and are laid out in rows, as was the common custom in Europe from the Middle Ages.

Back to the World Heritage List

Lynn Salmon <>{

Last updated: September 9, 2016