World Heritage Sites in New Zealand

Te Wahipounamu - South West New Zealand

(43.0-46.5 S 166.0-170.0 E)

Southwest New Zealand covers almost 10 percent of the country and has been little modified by human influences. The area demonstrates the world's finest remaining examples of Gondwana flora and fauna in their natural habitats. The parks included in this listing are:

Additional links:

Tongariro National Park

(38.97-39.42 S 175.37-175.80 E)

These sacred mountain tops were given to the New Zealand government in 1887 and formed the nucleus of New Zealand's first national park. The park is located on the central volcanic plateau of the North Island and contains both glacial and volcanic landscapes. This area is linked with the arrival of the first Maoris from the Pacific. The name `Tongariro' is derived from `Tonga' meaning fire, and `riro' meaning carried away.

New Zealand Sub-Antarctic Islands

(47 -- 52 S 165 -- 179 E)

This site includes the five island groups of the New Zealand subantarctic zone in the Southern Ocean: the Snares, Bounty Islands, Antipodes Islands, Auckland Islands, and Campbell Island. They are particularly notable for the large number and diversity of pelagic seabirds and penguins that nest there.

Back to the World Heritage List

Lynn Salmon <>{

Last Updated: November 7, 2019