World Heritage Sites in Morocco

Medina of Fez

(34.10 N 4.63 W)

Fez is a fortified medieval city, originally founded in 809 AD by Idriss II, the great Moorish king. There are two main zones separated by the river Fez. The Andalusian zone was settled by Arab refugees from Spain, and the Qarawiyin zone was settled by Arabs from Tunisia.

Medina of Marrakesh

(31.638 N 8.002 W)

Several major dynasties influenced the city of Marrakesh. It was founded in 1062 AD by Yussef ibn Tashfin, the ruler of the Almoravid Dynasty. He introduced irrigation canals which still supply the city's gardens with water.

Ksar of Ait-Ben-Haddou

(30.95 N 6.83 W)

The ksar, a group of earthen buildings surrounded by high walls, represents an ancient village site. The ruins display a unique geometric arrangement of the bricks at oblique angles and in zig-zag patterns. These are the earliest surviving examples of this style.

Historic City of Meknes

(33.88 N 5.62 W)

Archaeological Site of Volubilis

(34.07 N 5.55 W)

Medina of Tetouan (formerly known as Titawin)

(35.57 N 5.37 W)

Medina of Essaouira (formerly Mogador)

(31.50 N 9.80 W)

Portuguese City of Mazagan (El Jadida)

(33.25 N 8.50 W)

Rabat, Modern Capital and Historic City: a Shared Heritage

(34.024 N 6.823 W)

Back to the World Heritage List

Lynn Garry Salmon <>{

Last updated: November 7, 2019