World Heritage Sites in Kiribati

Phoenix Islands Protected Area

(3.649 S 172.857 W)

PIPA includes all eight atoll and low reef islands of the Kiribati section of the Phoenix Island group: Rawaki, Enderbury, Nikumaroro, McKean, Manra, Birnie, Kanton and Orona. It also includes two submerged reefs: Carondelet Reef and Winslow Reef. It is the largest marine protected area in the Pacific Ocean.

Back to the World Heritage List

Lynn Salmon <>{

Last Updated: July 2, 2019