World Heritage Sites in Benin

Royal Palaces of Abomey

(7.23 N 2.00 E) -- satellite image

From 1625 to 1900, 12 kings succeeded one another at the head of the powerful Kingdom of Abomey. With the exception of King Akaba, who had his own separate enclosure, they all had their palaces built within the same cob-wall area, in keeping with previous palaces as regards the use of space and materials. The royal palaces of Abomey are a unique reminder of this vanished kingdom.

W-Arly-Pendjari Complex

The "W" National Park of Niger site, inscribed on the World Heritage List in 1996 was expanded to includes parts in Benin and Burkino Faso in 2017.

Koutammakou, the Land of the Batammariba

Back to the World Heritage List

Lynn Salmon <>{

Last updated: September 17, 2023